Gilgit-Baltistan has been under Pakistan administration since 1947 and was given self-governing status on August 29, 2009 and is now constitutionally an integrated part of Pakistan.[1][2] Gilgit-Baltistan comprises Ten districts within two divisions of Pakistan. The two districts of Skardu and Ghanche are in the Baltistan Division, and the five districts of Diamir, Ghizar, Gilgit, Astore (which was carved out of the Diamir District in 2004)and Hunza and Nagar which was carved out of Gilgit District are in the Gilgit Division. The main political centres are the towns of Gilgit and Skardu..

 Updated Map of GB 

Other Details

Gilgit-Baltistan is home to some of the world's highest mountain ranges. The main ranges are the Karakoram and the western Himalayas. The Pamir mountains are to the north and the Hindu Kush lies to the west.[3] Amongst the highest mountains are K2 (Mount Godwin-Austen) and Nanga Parbat, one of the most feared mountains in the world. Many of the highest peaks in Gilgit-Baltistan, such as Baltoro Muztagh, K2 (Mount Godwin-Austen) (8,611 m), the second-highest mountain in the world), the Gasherbrums (7,932 - 8,080 meters, ranked 12-17 in the world), and Masherbrum (7,821 m), 22nd-highest in the world), lie in the Skardu District. Other high peaks are Distaghil Sar (7,885 meters, 19th-highest in the world), Kunyang Chhish (7,852 meters, 21st-highest in the world), Batura Sar (7,795 m), 25th-highest in the world), Kanjut Sar (7,790 m), 26th-highest in the world), and Rakaposhi (7,788 m), 27th-highest in the world.p>